Outgoing AG Coakley among 5 named to Harvard fellowships

Outgoing Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley will be among five resident fellows at Harvard University’s Institute of Politics in the spring.

Coakley is leaving office next week after two terms as attorney general. The Democrat narrowly lost the governor’s race to Republican Charlie Baker in November.

The other spring resident fellows announced Thursday include former Democratic U.S. Sen. Kay Hagan of North Carolina; former New York City Council Speaker Christine Quinn; Time magazine Washington correspondent Jay Newton-Small; and Matt Lira, former deputy executive director of the National Republican Senatorial Committee.

The institute said in a release that resident fellows interact with students, lead weekly study groups and participate in other ways in the university’s intellectual life.

The Institute of Politics is part of the John F. Kennedy School of Government.


Harvard Kennedy School’s Institute of Politics Announces Spring Resident Fellows

Cambridge, MA – Harvard Kennedy School’s Institute of Politics (IOP) today announced the selection of the 2015 IOP Spring Resident Fellows.  The IOP was established in 1966 as a memorial to President Kennedy and aims to inspire, motivate and encourage undergraduates to consider careers in politics and public service. 

“The Institute’s Spring Fellows represent the strong impact dedicated practitioners can have throughout politics and public service,” said Institute of Politics Director Maggie Williams.  “We look forward to welcoming this accomplished group and are confident they will guide and support our students as they explore the many avenues to political engagement and public service.”

Over the course of an academic semester, Resident Fellows interact with students; develop and lead weekly study groups; and are afforded many opportunities to participate in the intellectual life of the Harvard community.

The 2015 Fellows roster reflects expertise in law enforcement and legal affairs, political communications, campaign and digital strategy, journalism, and political leadership in state, local and federal government. More information is available at LINK.

The following Resident Fellows will join the Institute for the spring semester:

•    Martha Coakley, Massachusetts attorney general (2007-15) and Middlesex County district attorney (1999-2007)

•    Kay Hagan, U.S. Senator (2009-14; D-NC) and North Carolina State Senator (1999-2008)

•    Matt Lira, deputy executive director, National Republican Senatorial Committee (2013-14); senior advisor, Office of U.S. House majority leader Eric Cantor (R-VA; 2011–Aug. 2012 and Nov. 2012–Mar. 2013); digital director for Vice Presidential nominee Paul Ryan (R-WI), Romney for President (Aug. 2012–Nov. 2012)

•    Jay Newton-Small, Washington correspondent, TIME (2007-present); government reporter, Bloomberg News (2003-07)

•    Christine Quinn, member (1999-2013) and speaker (2006-13), New York City Council