The state senate is set to debate a bill that would ban the use of hand-held electronic devices while driving.

If the bill becomes law, drivers could face steep fines of up to $500. 

  • 1st violation: $100 fine
  • 2nd violation: $250 fine
  • 3rd and all after that: $500 + moving violation

After three or more violations, drivers would also be hit with an insurance surcharge.

If the senate passes the bill, manually entering information into a GPS will be banned, and hands free mode will be the only way you can use your phone while behind the wheel.

There is an exception in the bill right now for emergency situations.

Drivers under the age of 18 are already banned from using hand-held device while driving, and texting and driving is illegal for anyone 18 and older.

If the senate votes in the bill, Massachusetts would be joining 14 other states including Connecticut, New Hampshire and Vermont.

(Copyright (c) 2016 Sunbeam Television. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Join our Newsletter for the latest news right to your inbox