President Barack Obama named 19 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients Monday. NBC News’ Tom Brokaw, Meryl Streep and Stevie Wonder were among those named to receive the nation’s highest civilian honor.

Obama said in a statement, “I look forward to presenting these nineteen bold, inspiring Americans with our Nation’s highest civilian honor. From activists who fought for change to artists who explored the furthest reaches of our imagination; from scientists who kept America on the cutting edge to public servants who help write new chapters in our American story, these citizens have made extraordinary contributions to our country and the world.”

The White House awards ceremony is Nov. 24.

This year’s full list of Medal of Freedom recipients:

  • Choreographer Alvin Ailey (posthumous)
  • Novelist Isabel Allende
  • Journalist Tom Brokaw
  • Civil rights activist and “Freedom Summer” participants, James Chaney, Andrew Goodman and Michael Schwerner (posthumous)
  • Physicist Mildred Dresselhaus
  • Rep. John Dingell of Michigan
  • Human rights activist Ethel Kennedy
  • Writer and activist Suzan Harjo
  • Federal judge and former Rep. Abner Mikva of Illinois
  • Rep. Patsy Takemoto Mink of Hawaii (posthumous)
  • Rep. Edward Roybal of California (posthumous)
  • Professional golfer Charles Sifford
  • Economist Robert Solow
  • Composer Stephen Sondheim
  • Actress Meryl Streep
  • Social activist Marlo Thomas
  • Singer-songwriter Steve Wonder
Join our Newsletter for the latest news right to your inbox