Facebook adds feature to hide your ex after a breakup

If you’re changing that Facebook relationship status from "In a Relationship" to "It’s Complicated" or even "Single," Facebook is ready to lend you a shoulder to cry on.

The social media site announced Thursday it is testing tools to offer additional options and resources to people who aren’t sure what steps are available to them following a breakup.

When a user ends a relationship, Facebook will prompt them to utilize the tools, which include seeing less of the former partner’s profile, edit who can see past posts, or limit what the partner will continue to see.

These options are available in lieu of unfriending or blocking the person, though those options are certainly still available.

"This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives," Facebook said in its statement. "We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control."

(Copyright (c) 2015 Sunbeam Television. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)