LEWISBURG, W.Va. (AP) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency has opened disaster centers for residents in two flood-ravaged West Virginia counties.

The centers opened Tuesday in Greenbrier and Kanawha counties. They were part of a federal disaster declaration issued last week that also included aid for Nicholas County after floods killed at least 23 people in the state.

FEMA says Greenbrier County residents can apply for federal assistance at the Emmanuel United Methodist Church in White Sulphur Springs. Kanawha County residents can apply at the Crede Warehouse in Charleston.

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has also added seven counties to his request for a federal disaster declaration for flood-ravaged West Virginia.

The counties added by Tomblin in a statement Tuesday are Clay, Fayette, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster.

The three hardest-hit counties — Greenbrier, Kanawha and Nicholas — have already received approval for a federal declaration. That allows residents to apply for individual assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Those affected can apply for aid online or by phone.

Flash flooding last week damaged thousands of homes and businesses and killed 23 people. Tomblin previously issued a state of emergency in 44 counties, which authorizes the mobilization of state resources for flood-relief efforts.

(Copyright (c) 2024 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.)

Join our Newsletter for the latest news right to your inbox